Relais & Châteaux Hotel
DIE SONNE FRANKENBERG
D-35066 Frankenberg / Eder
One of Frankenberg’s best-known landmarks is the two-storey Gothic half-timbered town hall, which is not only adorned with ten towers, but also with the piggyback figures of artist Philipp Soldan, whose fame spreads well beyond the walls of the town.
Following the example of the Marburg “Elisabethkirche”, the foundation stone for the three-nave “Liebfrauenkirche” (Church of Our Lady) was laid in 1286. The stained-glass windows in the choir, dating from the middle of the 14th Century, and the tabernacle, stone pulpit and ceiling paintings are well worth seeing.
Once a nunnery for the Cistercian Order, it is now home to the district office and district museum, and houses sacred exhibits by master builder and stone sculptor Tyle von Frankenberg and many works by Philipp Soldan.
The old town mainly consists of half-timbered houses, which have been restored to perfection. The Witch’s Tower, one of the few relics of this defensive fortification, tells the story of how the old town was once surrounded by mighty walls featuring 20 towers and five gates.
Enjoy pure driving pleasure when you take a trip in one of our convertibles, classic cars, or motorcycles. Explore unforgettable destinations on a day out by bicycle, on foot, or in a canoe. Sports enthusiasts will find unlimited opportunities including golf, sailing, diving, gliding, skiing, and bobsledding.
Follow a small stream through an enchanted forest. Discover the outlines of a castle through the green of the leaves. Where could that be? In the middle of a world full of sagas and legends: in Kellerwald-Edersee National Park. This is the home of the Brothers Grimm, where their world-famous fairy tales have their origins.