KONTAKT

Relais & Châteaux Hotel

DIE SONNE FRANKENBERG

Marktplatz 2-4

D-35066 Frankenberg / Eder

+49 (0) 64 51 / 750-0 ZUM KONTAKTFORMULAR
Historisches Rathaus Frankenberg

Town Hall

One of Frankenberg’s best-known landmarks is the two-storey Gothic half-timbered town hall, which is not only adorned with ten towers, but also with the piggyback figures of artist Philipp Soldan, whose fame spreads well beyond the walls of the town.

Kirche Frankenberg

Liebfrauenkirche (Church of Our Lady)

Following the example of the Marburg “Elisabethkirche”, the foundation stone for the three-nave “Liebfrauenkirche” (Church of Our Lady) was laid in 1286. The stained-glass windows in the choir, dating from the middle of the 14th Century, and the tabernacle, stone pulpit and ceiling paintings are well worth seeing.

Landratsamt

St. Georgberg Nunnery

Once a nunnery for the Cistercian Order, it is now home to the district office and district museum, and houses sacred exhibits by master builder and stone sculptor Tyle von Frankenberg and many works by Philipp Soldan.

Märchenland Ederbergland

Altstadt (Old Town)

The old town mainly consists of half-timbered houses, which have been restored to perfection. The Witch’s Tower, one of the few relics of this defensive fortification, tells the story of how the old town was once surrounded by mighty walls featuring 20 towers and five gates.

Discoveries to be made close to DIE SONNE

Eder Uplands: winding roads and beautiful views.

Enjoy pure driving pleasure when you take a trip in one of our convertibles, classic cars, or motorcycles. Explore unforgettable destinations on a day out by bicycle, on foot, or in a canoe. Sports enthusiasts will find unlimited opportunities including golf, sailing, diving, gliding, skiing, and bobsledding.

Make the most beautiful discoveries.

Follow a small stream through an enchanted forest. Discover the outlines of a castle through the green of the leaves. Where could that be? In the middle of a world full of sagas and legends: in Kellerwald-Edersee National Park. This is the home of the Brothers Grimm, where their world-famous fairy tales have their origins.

KONTAKT

Relais & Châteaux Hotel

DIE SONNE FRANKENBERG

Marktplatz 2-4

D-35066 Frankenberg / Eder

+49 (0) 64 51 / 750-0 ZUM KONTAKTFORMULAR
Historisches Rathaus Frankenberg

Rathaus

Eines der bekanntesten Wahrzeichen Frankenbergs ist das zweigeschossige, im gotischen Stil errichtete Fachwerk-Rathaus, das nicht nur zehn Türme zieren, sondern auch die Huckepackfiguren des weit über die Grenzen der Stadt hinaus bekannten Künstlers Philipp Soldan.

Kirche Frankenberg

Liebfrauenkirche

Nach dem Vorbild der Marburger Elisabethkirche wurde 1286 der Grundstein für die dreischiffige Liebfrauenkirche gelegt. Sehenswert sind die Fenster im Chor mit Glasmalereien aus der Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts, Sakramentshäuschen, Steinkanzel und die Deckenmalereien.

Landratsamt

Kloster St. Georgenberg

Einst ein Nonnenkloster des Zisterzienser-Ordens, beherbergt es heute das Landratsamt und das Kreisheimatmuseum mit sakralen Exponaten des Baumeisters und Steinbildhauers Tyle von Frankenberg und vielen Werken Philipp Soldans.

Märchenland Ederbergland

Altstadt

Die Altstadt besteht zum größten Teil aus Fachwerkhäusern, die vorbildlich restauriert wurden. Dass sie einst von mächtigen Mauern mit 20 Türmen und fünf Toren umgeben war, davon erzählt der Hexenturm, eines der wenigen Relikte dieser wehrhaften Befestigungsanlage.

Entdeckungen rund um die SONNE

Das Ederbergland: kurvenreiche Straßen und herrliche Aussichten.

Genießen Sie pures Fahrvergnügen bei Ausflügen mit dem Cabrio, Oldtimer oder Motorrad. Erkunden Sie mit dem Fahrrad, zu Fuß oder im Kanu unvergessliche Ausflugsziele. Sportbegeisterte finden nahezu unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten wie golfen, segeln, tauchen, segelfliegen, Ski oder Bob fahren.

Machen Sie die schönsten Entdeckungen.

Folgen Sie einem kleinen Wasserlauf durch einen verwunschenen Wald. Erahnen Sie die Umrisse einer Burg durch das Grün der Blätter. Wo das sein soll? Mitten in der Welt der Sagen und Legenden: im Nationalpark Kellerwald-Edersee. Hier in der Heimat der Brüder Grimm haben die weltberühmten Märchen ihren Ursprung.